About The Emergency Management Commission

The Commission

  Local emergency management is addressed in Iowa Code Chapter 29C and in Iowa Administrative Code 605 Chapter 7. Local emergency management governance, authority, fiscal responsibility, organization, and programs are set forth in these policy documents. Compliance with the scope of these mandates, coupled with significant additional federal mandates, creates high expectations for level of effort and compliance on the part of the local emergency management agencies. Membership on the Emergency Management Commission is also designated in the Code: the county sheriff, a representative of the Board of Supervisors, and the mayor (or designee) from each municipality in the county. The Commission is required by law to hire an Emergency Management Coordinator (EMC) who is charged with carrying out the program of the Emergency Management Agency (EMA).   

Current Voting Commission Members

Current Commission members and their respective jurisdiction are as follows;

Amy Laures - Alta Vista Councilmember

David Geerts - Mayor of North Washington

Vice Chair Steve Geerts - Board of Supervisors

Jim Ashley - Mayor of Bassett

Scott Cerwinske - Nashua Councilmember

Shain Kroenecke - Mayor of Fredericksburg

Chair Mark Mueterthies - Mayor of Lawler

Marty Hemann - Chickasaw County Sheriff

Randy Taylor - Mayor of Ionia

Deb Larsen - Mayor of New Hampton

Emergency Management Agency Budget

Chickasaw County Emergency Management Budget Link (This redirects to the Iowa Department of Management, IADOM)

Active Committees

Chickasaw County Emergency Management is involved in several diverse, multi-jurisdictional committees that are committed to continuous improvement of emergency management and homeland security throughout Chickasaw County and Iowa.

Several of the committees included are:

-Chickasaw County Public Health Coalition

-Chickasaw County Security Panel

-Iowa Region 2 Homeland Security 

-Iowa Emergency Management Association Training Committee

-Iowa Service Area Region 2 Health Committee

-Northeast Iowa Regional Local Emergency Planning Committee

-Northeast Iowa Regional Council of Governments

- RIC Region 2: Iowa Statewide Interoperable Communications Systems Board

- Iowa Emergency Management Association

-National Emergency Numbers Association (NENA)

-Iowa Emergency Medical Services Association